I love Honey Lemon

I have a lot of opinions about Honey Lemon from Big Hero 6, and just… I really love her so much as a character because I think she’s really a character we all really needed to see.

Don’t get me wrong I really love all the characters in Big Hero 6, all of them were just really well rounded and very strong characters and overall had a very nice distinct personality and look to them, aside from the lazy animation of reusing those old Rapunzel models on Honey and Go Go Tomago, same face syndrome just makes me so mad, but I’m not going to get into that, this post is about how much I really love the strong female characters in Big Hero 6, more specifically Honey Lemon.

Now Big Hero 6 was a bit of a stretch, taking a movie based off a rather obscure comic, maybe not that obscure, but let’s be honest how many of us had really heard of it before the movie came out, but in the end it turned out to be a huge success.

Honey Lemon has got to be one of my favorite characters I see throughout the movie. Sure Tomago has some gold lines like “Woman up” which I really love because, score for feminism! Like usually you get all these really butch chicks saying “Man Up” which really makes me mad because, it’s as if being a woman makes you less than a man? Because apparently a woman cannot step up to the challenge and has to become more masculine to be able to perform a task? But anyways, Honey is just a really great role model.

I keep getting distracted from my main point, its just… wow there’s a lot of things I just kinda love about Big Hero 6.

Well… a lot of the hate behind Honey Lemon has got to do with her race, as silly as it sounds. Honey Lemon is a latina woman portrayed with light skin, hair, and green eyes, which seems to bother a lot of people. I mean… it’s not the most solid representation, because if you look at some of the original character designs behind Honey Lemon, many of them portray her with much darker skin and thicker hair— what seems to be “expected” of a latina woman, but nonetheless, Honey Lemon is still a woman of color, a very lovely one at that, and really representation is wonderful, and like I wish we didn’t really have to ask for representation of different minorities in this day and age, but what are you going to do.

Another reason I love Big Hero 6 because majority of the big hero 6 main cast was a mix of different people of color, even the voice actors behind many of the characters had people of color to them, which rocks!

Back to Honey Lemon—Another reason people tend to hate on her is because she represents this… stereotypical girly girl. She’s into fashion, she takes selfies, she really likes cute things, yadda yadda yadda… but look at her from another angle. She loves science, she’s smart, she’s a woman of color who got into this really smart prestigious school—despite being the perfect outline for a ditzy, bimbo of a character she could’ve been. Honey Lemon shows young girls that they don’t have to sacrifice being girly and cute for the sake of getting into science, and that’s just great.

Honey Lemon is just… a wonderful character and a great role model for girls and I really love her for that.

Leave a Reply

