The Attitude, The Work, The Dream

tumblr_n16jkx43K21s2b901o1_1280

We live in a generation of dreamers, of creators, of innovators… yet one so afraid, so uncertain, so lost.

I hate being asked what I want to do in the future. It is actually the worst question to ask anyone, it’s a useless and stressful question, not only because I’m not exactly sure what I want to do, but also because every time I have a somewhat clear view of what I want to do, someone just has to say the magic words, the most disgusting phrase in the English Language.

“Really? Are you sure?” 

What is my dream? I want to be an Animator, more specifically I want to work pre-production. I want to do storyboards, character designs, and concept art. Animation is my dream and I plan to see it to the end, see where it takes me. But that can be very hard when just about everyone I encounter asks me if I’m sure about my career choice, implying that I don’t know what I’m talking about and should just give up on my dream. Telling me to give up.

And I think that’s sad because sometimes I believe them. Because sometimes I doubt myself and sometimes I get scared because I have the sudden realization… If I don’t reach my goal… then what? What’s going to happen to me. That terrifies me. I’m so scared.

Because the worst thing in the world is to not believe in yourself. Because the moment you stop believe in yourself is when a black hole forms in your heart. Nothing is good enough. Nothing will ever be good enough.

But I can’t let that negative reinforcement get me down, because if I do… well… I guess I’ll never get to where I want, right?

I recently got the opportunity to take a tour around the Disney Animation Studios up in Burbank, not only did I get to see around the Studios, B and C, and the wonderful Frank G. Wells Building, but I also got to see, I believe it was called, the Empire Building, where the preproduction of the TV animation is produced. Now this was especially incredible for me because this is exactly what I want to do with my future, I want to work with preproduction and all that jazz, these were my people.

I got to see the facility and the people and how they worked together. I think it was clear that everyone loved their jobs and the environment in general was just really friendly and… I loved it. I fell in love with this job… I just… I don’t know if I want to do anything else. It was the perfect job for me.

I love art. I love drawing. I love animation. I want to follow my passion.

Now I’m not stupid, I know the art industry is extremely competitive and overall a really unstable one at that, but I’m determined to get there. It’s going to be rough, but I’ll get there.

One of the best parts about this trip was that I got to talk to professionals, those who know what they’re doing, who love their job, and just, they all gave me so much advice and encouragement.

I learned so much from the people I look up to so much.

I think the most incredible piece of advice I heard was:

“To draw and keep drawing and never stop. Don’t mind what other people think of your art, just keep doing what you love and you’ll get somewhere, you’ll get where you want to be.”

That was the most important advice I needed to hear. I’m part of a generation of young adults who are so unsure of themselves, but now I think I have my goal.

Because I need to be brave and put myself out there.

Because YES! I’m one hundred percent sure this is what I want to do with my life. Because even if it doesn’t sound practical, I want to fight for it. I want to fight for it so hard because that just makes it that much sweeter, that much more important to me.

I may sound like a dreamer, but I’m going to get things done.

3 thoughts on “The Attitude, The Work, The Dream

  1. This post was very inspirational. You know what you want in life and you have a goal to strive for, that nobody can stop you from achieving. It’s true that we’re all dreamers, and that we all crave and desire things but others tend to tell us that it’s wrong, that we shouldn’t want what we want but in the end what others say mean nothing. It doesn’t matter if people think you’re a dreamer because without dreamers there would be no innovators or creators. “All your dreams can come true, if you have the courage to pursue them.” -Walt Disney

    Like

  2. Pingback: Look How Far We’ve Come! | Wannabe Calarts Student

Leave a Reply

